Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /membri/cyberstorm/phpBB3/common.php on line 106
Neptune354 • View topic - MAC Address Cloning




Neptune354


SORRY GUYS; DUE TO A BIG AMOUNT OF SPAM I HAVE BLOCKED ALL THE FORUM ACTIVITY :-/
It is currently 14 Dec 2017, 20:54

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]





Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: MAC Address Cloning
PostPosted: 22 Jan 2008, 21:27 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: 22 Jan 2008, 21:17
Posts: 15
I'm changing my ISP, but the new one requires the correct MAC address (i.e. I have to cone the MAC address from some other router)

ADSL Connection is PPOA - so can't use new feature in neptune354 v0.2 (as only for PPOE)

I've downloaded the config file from the web page and using a hex editor looked for the MAC address string with no luck..

I saw some where (a long time ago) that the MAC address is contained in the NOV RAM and that this can be read using telnet...

Can this be program using telnet, if so what are the commands - is their another way

Many thanks


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: MAC Address Cloning
PostPosted: 22 Jan 2008, 22:37 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: 22 Jan 2008, 21:17
Posts: 15
Some info here.....
http://www.linksysinfo.org/forums/archi ... 55189.html

So to get some addresses

Telnet command...

nvram get wl0_hwaddr
nvram get lan_hwaddr

Both give the same address....I assume this LAN and wireless LAN addresses but not gateway (as the last number
of the mac address is incremented by 1)



It seems I may not have to do this.......... I'm going to O2 ... not sure what it means yet But I'll find out
http://dontbethere.co.uk/forum/default.aspx?f=6&m=12599

If is ..... "Select ETHoA or Routed Ethernet over ATM or 1483 Briged connection"
Then I assume that I can use the cloning feature of neptune v0.2

Thanks in advance




If


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: MAC Address Cloning
PostPosted: 25 Jan 2008, 16:09 
Offline
Site Admin
 Profile

Joined: 04 Jun 2007, 17:55
Posts: 67
hi, as you have noticed, mac cloning is available only with pppoe.
In fact pppoe means ppp over ethernet, and an ethernet host is identified by a mac-address. Instead pppoa is ppp over atm, and atm address is not a mac-address, so mac cloning in this situation is non sense.

Anyway, if your goal is simply to change the WAN mac address, you can do it without problems, but hexedit the config backup does not work, because the backup is not a plain ascii dump but probably encoded or compressed in some way.

You can use "nvram set" + "nvram commit", and you can get a full dump of config with "mtd" tool from telnet applied to mtd3 ( I dont remember the exact syntax now, you cand find it using mtd --help).

You should also modify the bootloader variable containing the wan address, you can see it with:
cat /proc/ticfg/env
and set using
echo "var_name var_value" > /proc/ticfg/env


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: MAC Address Cloning
PostPosted: 25 Jan 2008, 21:53 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: 22 Jan 2008, 21:17
Posts: 15
Its so much better having a router with linux installed (neptune v0.2), its a bit of a learning curve but worth it!

Many thanks cyberstorm............... its getting clearer


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: MAC Address Cloning
PostPosted: 29 Jan 2008, 20:53 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: 22 Jan 2008, 21:17
Posts: 15
Update............ may help users of o2 broadband (UK)

1. New MAC Cloning feature works (if you want to use it)
2. No issues, much faster than old ISP

Changes from the default setup page as follows......

Encapsulation: RFC 1483 Bridged
Multiplexing: LLC
QoS Type: UBR
Autodetect: Disable
VPI: 0
VCI: 101
DSL Modulation: MultiMode -i.e the router detects that the link is ASDL2+..no need to set

Hope this helps Rick


Top
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group  
Design By Poker Bandits